The High Sheriff of Gwynedd Annual Crimebeat Awards

Discovering Ogwen_GLL0821[1]

The High Sheriff of Gwynedd, Dr Elizabeth Andrews MBE DL, welcomed guests at Caernarfon Crown Court for the Annual High Sheriff’s Awards for 2015- 2016.

These Awards are given to people who have made a considerable difference to life in their communities.   They give commitment and hours of their time in a tradition which is very special to Britain, and resonates particularly with our sense of community here in Wales.

These are the people who have made their community a better place by the work and understanding which they have given to support and help others.

In her welcome address, the Dr. Andrews said: “One of the aspects of the modern High Sheriff’s job, is to support and raise money for some of the projects and enterprises which underpin their work, and it is through the High Sheriff’s charity, Crimebeat, that this work is done.”

Crimebeat gives small grants, to enable young people get their project off the ground, or to expand their efforts.   Some of the young recipients of Crimebeat Grants were recognised at the Awards, and guests were entertained by the Menai Bridge Youth Band which received a grant in 2015.

Many of these projects have the involvement of the local Police and Community Support Officers, who provide help in running them and a number of these officers and their colleagues received Community Service Awards from the High Sheriff.

The High Sheriff was delighted to award the Crimebeat Project of the Year 2015/16 to Darganfod Dyffryn Ogwen, for their inspirational work with young people in Bethesda.

Led by PCSO Iwan Owen and his colleagues – PCSO Gareth Davies and PCSO Chris Evans – the project sets about creating a pictorial and film representation of their local community.

A number of 14/15 year old local people from Ysgol Dyffryn Ogwen are being guided through photographing various aspects of the local community and presenting the results in such a way as to give a clear view of the character and history of the community and its people.

The final work will be publicly displayed both in Neuadd Ogwen (local community Theatre) and in the Snowdonia National Park visitor centre in Ogwen. Additionally the group members will be able to use the work they have produced towards their educational qualifications.

PCSO Owen and his team have brought together many different partners and funders to this project – as well as Crimbeat he has received support from the North Wales Arson Reduction Team, Snowdonia National Park; Mantell Gwynedd, AND the National Trust.

Community Service Awards were made to:

PCSO Elizabeth Jones

In recognition of her work with young people from Coleg Meirion Dwyfor to produce ‘Chwarae’n Wirion’

PCSO Darren Walters

In recognition of the commendable work undertaken with young people in Barmouth in the promotion   and development of community   cohesion

PCSO Kelly Tatlock

In recognition of her service to neighbourhood policing, and her commitment to problem solving and tackling anti-social behaviour

Bangor City Centre Shop Watch Partnership

In recognition of the enthusiasm and dedication shown in supporting the community and reduce crime and anti-social behaviour in Bangor city centre.


Team Award –

Special Inspector Neal Lewis-Jones

Special Constable 9495 Dion Hughes

Special Constable 9389 Lois Owen

In recognition of their exceptional commitment and dedication to the Special Constabulary on Anglesey

The High Sheriff was also privileged to make two Personal Awards:

Aberdyfi Search and Rescue Team

In recognition of the outstanding and invaluable service given to protect the public in times of need.


Mr. Ivor Evans

In recognition of his outstanding service to the Royal Air Force Association and the Royal British Legion.

Dr. Andrews concluded the evening by saying: “I have been truly privileged to meet some of the people who are indeed making a positive difference to life in Gwynedd, and it is some of these people that I should like to celebrate and thank with you at this year’s High Sheriff’s Awards.”